MTL TTL 08: Fireworks


I went to the old port of Montreal last night to take some pictures of 32nd edition of L’International des Feux Loto-Québec. It is a yearly fireworks display that goes on every Saturday and Wednesday for the whole month of July. It is a very popular Montreal summer event.

This was my first foray into taking pictures of fireworks and let me tell you that it takes practice, patience and timing. You will most likely end up shooting many pictures and only a few might come out usable. I shot 30 snaps and only 1 of those was a keeper.

Here is the sole keeper shot (not the best fireworks image you will witness but it’s a start):

@SKR Imaging

Old port fireworks

The next time I shoot fireworks photographs, I will take what I learned with this shoot and improve upon it to achieve more keeper shots. A few important things will be to find the best spot with better foreground subjects to frame the shot without obstructing the firework display. I might try shooting from a bridge vantage point to be a little closer to the action.

Let me know what you think of the shot and if any of you have previously taken firework photographs, I would love to hear about your experiences aswell!

 

 

Leave a Reply

